Skip to content

Backstage

DR!FT - The story behind it!

We’re breaking new ground in motorsport

Martin Müller, the founder of STURMKIND, has always thought differently - further. Has always influenced and changed the respective market with innovative, novel products. Driven not by competition, but by visions. Not to improve, but to create something new, incomparable. Not to leave something behind, but to reach new territory. This innovative, different way of thinking is deeply anchored in the DR!FT DNA.

backstage.jpg
The Background

The dream of realistic models

Martin's deepest conviction was and is that a racing game can only conjure up the deepest emotions when a model not only looks like but also moves and sounds just like its great archetype in the real world!

To fulfil this dream, physics had to be outsmarted: You can reduce the size of a vehicle, but not its environment with all the accompanying physical laws. This means that the realistic behaviour of the model decreases in proportion to its decrease in size.

Martin has worked on this for years and created several models that meet his high standards.

For example, his Airbus A310, a model airliner that weighs just 350 grams with a wingspan of 2 metres! This extremely lightweight construction enabled Martin not only to reduce the body structure but also the flight characteristics to scale.

The result is as unique as it is spectacular:

gussform.jpg
drifttimeline.jpg

Exciting races in your living room

A completely new experience with DR!FT: In 2003, Martin had the break-through idea for how to realise his dream of finally being able to hold real car races in his own living room.

Races in which exciting overtaking manoeuvres, multiple drivers all at the same time and track independence would be possible. The world of virtual racing simulations and real racing cars had to be combined! A new genre of gaming was born!

The idea matured further, as did the available technologies. DR!FT was given the start signal by the further development of smartphone technology:

Full commitment to the DR!FT-Racer

In 2015 Martin began to invest all his time and money in the realisation of his dream. So he stopped paid work in his own construction office, sold his sports car, with which he himself had learned to drift at various events, collected all his money together and started on the first prototype of the DR!FT-Racer. At the end of 2015 he held the proof that his vision could become reality in his hands!

Martin now began to look for investors. Many liked the project, but too few dared to invest in DR!FT. Technology too complex, too novel, not enough to go on to be able to estimate whether DR!FT would work as a finished product. There was also the question of whether DR!FT would have what it takes to really inspire people if it did enter the market.

Martin and Stephanie

Unshakeable belief in success

Martin and Stephanie decided to launch DR!FT with the help of a crowdfunding campaign. The first promotional video was shot.

At the end of September 2016 the first teaser was published on Facebook. The Kickstarter campaign took place in November and December of the same year.

When the Kickstarter campaign ended on 30/12/2016, well over 1300 people had already ordered their DR!FT-Racers in advance. More than €260,000 were collected on Kickstarter and Crowdpilot. 14 years after the initial inspiration, DR!FT finally become reality. Less than a year later, the first DR!FT-Racers were delivered.

STURMKIND creates jobs in Germany

In the meantime, the Sturmkind crew at the headquarters in Speyer has grown to a 14-strong team. All in all, more than 50 people, spread all over Germany, are now involved in the DR!FT project.

stk_de_karte_800x800.png

Race on! The race has only just started!

Every day sees further developments. Up until now, we have only realised a small fraction of our ideas. Gaming options, earning points, virtual tuning - such as more horsepower, engine change - and much more, will be available to every user via free updates. We're working on it! Daily! Untiringly! To make it a reality for you!

Sustainability

We want you to enjoy your DR!FT-Racer for a long time! We set the highest quality standards for our production in Germany. The mechanical parts are made of high-quality, partly fibre-reinforced plastics. DR!FT-Racers are designed for intensive and long-term use for good reason. If something breaks down, our service department is there for you with all conceivable spare parts.

Handmade in Germany

Handmade in Germany by Sturmkind

We appreciate the short distances and the direct contact to our partners. This makes it easier for us to meet our quality requirements.

drift2.jpg

This website uses cookies to provide you with the best possible service. By continuing to use the website, you consent to the use of cookies.More information

Backstage

DR!FT – Die Story dahinter!

Wir betreten neuen Boden im Motorsport

Martin Müller, der Gründer von STURMKIND, hat schon immer anders gedacht – weiter. Hat stets mit innovativen, neuartigen Produkten den jeweiligen Markt beeinflusst und verändert. Angetrieben nicht von Konkurrenz, sondern von Visionen. Nicht um zu verbessern, sondern um Neues, Unvergleichliches zu schaffen. Nicht, um etwas hinter sich zu lassen, sondern um Neuland zu erreichen. Dieses innovative, andersartige Denken ist tief in der DR!FT-DNA verankert.

Image
Image
DEr Hintergrund

Der Traum von realistischen Modellen

Martins tiefe Überzeugung war und ist es, dass bei einem Rennspiel die tiefsten Emotionen nur dann entstehen können, wenn ein Modell nicht nur so aussieht, sondern sich auch genauso bewegt und klingt wie sein großes Vorbild in der realen Welt!

Für diesen Traum musste die Physik ausgetrickst werden: Man kann ein Fahrzeug verkleinern, nicht jedoch dessen Umgebungswelt mit all ihren physikalischen Gesetzen. Deshalb bewegen sich Modelle, je stärker man sie verkleinert, immer unrealistischer.

Martin arbeitete über Jahre an dieser Aufgabe und erschuf einige Modelle, die seinen hohen Ansprüchen genügen sollten.

So zum Beispiel sein Airbus A310, ein Modell-Airliner der bei einer Flügelspannweite von 2 Meter gerade einmal 350 Gramm wiegt! Durch diesen Extrem-Leichtbau gelang es Martin nicht nur das Aussehen, sondern auch die Flugeigenschaften maßstäblich zu verkleinern.

Das Ergebnis ist so einzigartig wie spektakulär:

Image
DR!FT Timeline

Spannende Rennen im Wohnzimmer

Anders bei DR!FT: Martin hatte 2003 die Vision zur Realisierung seines Traumes, endlich richtige Autorennen im eigenen Wohnzimmer austragen zu können.

Rennen, bei denen spannende Überholmanöver, viele Fahrer gleichzeitig und Bahnunabhängigkeit möglich wären. Die Welt der virtuellen Rennsimulationen und der realen Rennautos musste kombiniert werden! Eine neue Gattung des Gaming entstand!

Die Idee reifte weiter, ebenso die verfügbaren Technologien. Dank der Weiterentwicklung der Smartphone-Technologie konnte dann auch der Startschuss für DR!FT fallen:

Voller Einsatz für den DR!FT-Racer

2015 begann Martin dann damit, all seine Zeit und auch sein Geld in die Verwirklichung seines Traumes zu investieren. So stoppte er die bezahlte Arbeit in seinem eigenen Konstruktionsbüro, verkaufte seinen Sportwagen, mit dem er selbst bei verschiedenen Events das Driften erlernt hatte, nahm all sein Geld zusammen und begann den ersten Prototyp des DR!FT-Racers zu realisieren. Ende 2015 hatte er dann den Beweis, dass seine Vision Wirklichkeit werden kann in Händen!

Martin begann nun damit, auf Investorensuche zu gehen. Vielen gefiel das Projekt, doch zu wenige trauten sich in DR!FT zu investieren. Zu komplexe Technologie, zu neuartig, zu wenig abschätzbar, ob DR!FT als fertiges Produkt funktionieren würde. Ebenfalls fragte man sich ob, wenn es dann am Markt sein würde, DR!FT auch das Zeug haben würde viele Menschen zu begeistern.

Image

Unerschütterlicher Glaube an den Erfolg

Martin und Stephanie beschlossen DR!FT mit Hilfe einer Crowdfundingkampagne ins Leben zu rufen. Das erste Promovideo wurde gedreht.

Ende September 2016 wurde dann der erste Teaser auf Facebook veröffentlicht. Die Kickstarterkampagne fand im November und Dezember desselben Jahres statt.

Image

Als die Kickstarterkampagne am 30.12.2016 endete, hatten sich bereits weit über 1.300 Menschen ihre DR!FT-Racer vorab gesichert. So kamen insgesamt über 260.000 € auf Kickstarter und Crowdpilot zusammen. DR!FT konnte, 14 Jahre nach der ersten Vision, endlich Realität werden. Ein knappes Jahr später wurden die ersten DR!FT-Racer ausgeliefert.

STURMKIND schafft Arbeitsplätze in Deutschland

In der Zwischenzeit ist die Sturmkind-Crew im Headquarter in Speyer auf ein 14-köpfiges Team angewachsen. Alles in Allem sind inzwischen mehr als 50 Menschen, verteilt über ganz Deutschland, in das Projekt DR!FT involviert.

Image
Image

Race on! Das Rennen ist gerade erst gestartet!

Täglich entwickeln wir weiter. Und wir haben erst einen kleinen Bruchteil unserer Ideen verwirklicht. Die Möglichkeiten für Gaming Optionen, Erspielen von Punkten, virtuelles Tuning, wie mehr PS, Motorwechsel und vieles mehr, wird allen Usern durch kostenlose Updates zur Verfügung stehen. Wir sind dran! Täglich! Unermüdlich! Um das Ganze für Euch in die Realität umzusetzen!

Nachhaltigkeit

Du sollst lange Spaß mit Deinem DR!FT-Racer haben! Wir stellen höchste Qualitätsansprüche an unsere Produktion in Deutschland. Die mechanischen Teile werden aus hochwertigen, teils faserverstärkten Kunststoffen, gefertigt. Die DR!FT-Racer sind aus gutem Grund für intensive und langfristige Nutzung ausgelegt. Geht doch einmal etwas kaputt, ist unsere Serviceabteilung mit allen erdenklichen Ersatzteilen für Dich da.

Handmade in Germany

Wir schätzen die kurzen Wege und den direkten Kontakt zu unseren Partnern. So können wir leichter unsere Qualitätsansprüche verwirklichen.